I'm here to listen and learn

If you are new to the board or simply have something new in your life, come let us know in the Introductions forum.
LeoWinegar

I'm here to listen and learn

Post by LeoWinegar » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:44 am

Hey everyone! I'm new and I joined to listen and learn from y'all. I'm a software consultant, 38 years old, married with 3 kids, living in Dallas.

Linked

Re: I'm here to listen and learn

Post by Linked » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:03 am

Welcome aboard! What brings you to NOM?
"I would write about life. Every person would be exactly as important as any other. All facts would also be given equal weightiness. Nothing would be left out. Let others bring order to chaos. I would bring chaos to order" - Kurt Vonnegut

Corsair

Post by Corsair » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:20 am

I'm also interested in what brings you to NOM and also curious how you found out about this site. It's not a secret at all, but it is not advertised and is a bit off the beaten path. We have the benefit of somewhat "owning" the acronym NOM and the understanding of what it means. It's amusing to see NOM used on both faithful and apostate forums with an understanding that neither group is 100% comfortable with the idea of a "New Order Mormon".

Hagoth

Post by Hagoth » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:32 am

Hi Leo,

Welcome to NOM. Hopefully we'll have some experiences and insights that will be useful to you.
“The easy confidence with which I know another man's religion is folly teaches me to suspect that my own is also.” -Mark Twain

Jesus: "The Kingdom of God is within you." The Buddha: "Be your own light."

Red Ryder

Post by Red Ryder » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:31 am

Welcome Leo!

Let’s jump right in and start some dialogue. I’m seriously interested in understanding how you healed from your faith crisis and what your faith in Mormonism and God looks like today. I read your LDS living article and have a few questions.

http://www.ldsliving.com/How-an-Atheist ... bt/s/90112