Talking to family

This is for encouragement, ideas, and support for people going through a faith transition no matter where you hope to end up. This is also the place to laugh, cry, and love together.
didyoumythme

Talking to family

Post by didyoumythme » Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:49 am

I went through my ‘faith crisis’ about a year and a half ago, and my parents haven’t talked to me about church stuff in a year. I brought up my concerns with them initially, but they refused to read/watch anything they considered critical, so we could never have meaningful conversations.

Recently, they said they are ‘almost ready to talk about things again’. The problem is, I’m am not super interested in talking about all the details anymore...that ship sailed a year ago as I studied things out and came to my own conclusions.

I may be willing to talk about ‘issues’ if they are interested, but is there any way to talk about these things without TBMs getting offended? Anytime I mention anything specific, they go into defense mode and I become the bad guy.

I’m not surprised by these responses anymore, but is there anyway around this? Are my only options to either avoid the topic or speak only in vague generalities that leave them thinking I ‘am lazy and just want to sin’?
When an honest man discovers he is mistaken, he will either cease being honest, or cease being mistaken. - Anonymous

Corsair

Re: Talking to family

Post by Corsair » Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:25 am

Are they really read to talk or do they simply have their talking points that they want to deliver for you to receive? My family so far has not wanted to talk with me. Each time I have tried to open the conversation they accepted a bit of my perspective before retreating to their testimony and carefully ending the conversation.