I'm no prophet but . . . An anecdote for hope

This is for encouragement, ideas, and support for people going through a faith transition no matter where you hope to end up. This is also the place to laugh, cry, and love together.
Zack Tacorin Dos

I'm no prophet but . . . An anecdote for hope

Post by Zack Tacorin Dos » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:46 am

I have taken a stand to withdraw my support from the Church as an example to my family. Not long ago my oldest child told me of her disaffection from the Church. I knew they didn’t accept the Church’s stand on many issues and was heading in the direction of leaving it, but I was shocked when they told me they wanted to resign from the Church. I hope and believe their stand on the Church is an indication of things to come for the rest of my family. Mark my word—I will be a beacon of honesty, integrity, and undying loyalty to them. For whatever reason, you [LDS General Leadership] refuse to make that same commitment. As a result, they will stand by my side, and it is likely that one-by-one they will leave you and the Church you represent
(Me, in an "An Open Letter to LDS General Leadership" I wrote 14 May 2012 but never published or shared with anyone).
As with just about anything else in life, there are no guarantees on how well your life will go, whether in or out of the Church or somewhere in between, but I hope my anecdote will give someone reason for hope.

I came out to my wife several years ago. Four of my five kids have been out of the Church mentally, emotionally, spiritually for some time now. I have one kid who remained a believer. The believing child was the most devout in the group, served a mission, attended seminary, attends institute, goes to church on own volition, and everybody loves this kid because said kids is one of the most wonderful human beings you'll ever meet.