The Story of My Weird Garment Dream

This is for encouragement, ideas, and support for people going through a faith transition no matter where you hope to end up. This is also the place to laugh, cry, and love together.
profit_seizer

The Story of My Weird Garment Dream

Post by profit_seizer » Sat Sep 29, 2018 9:07 pm

Once upon a time (like 2006 ish?) I was living in The Elms, which is an apartment complex in the South of Campus part of Provo. I was a grad student at BYU. Anyhow, one night, I had a dream. It's pretty light on the details, but it felt like I was being trapped, like my garments were suffocating me. And this dream must have been vivid at the time, because I woke to the sound of ripping fabric. That's right, I had taken the collar of my T-shirt style garment top and pulled, in my sleep, hard enough to rip the thing about a third of the way down the middle. The next day I was shook as all get out. What did that mean? Had I desecrated my G's? I was experienced enough at that point to not think it needed a visit to the bishop, but it was WEIRD. Was I a secret apostate? I spent the rest of the week convincing myself I wasn't a secret apostate. Turns out I was a secret apostate. The End.
"The history of human thought recalls the swinging of a pendulum which takes centuries to swing. After a long period of slumber comes a moment of awakening." —Peter Kropotkin

Hagoth

Re: The Story of My Weird Garment Dream

Post by Hagoth » Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:54 am

I think your problem was that you only did half of the ritual. You also needed to sit in ashes.
“The easy confidence with which I know another man's religion is folly teaches me to suspect that my own is also.” -Mark Twain

Jesus: "The Kingdom of God is within you." The Buddha: "Be your own light."

Reuben

Post by Reuben » Sun Sep 30, 2018 2:13 pm