Mormon quotes popping up in unexpected places...

This is for encouragement, ideas, and support for people going through a faith transition no matter where you hope to end up. This is also the place to laugh, cry, and love together.
glass shelf

Mormon quotes popping up in unexpected places...

Post by glass shelf » Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:58 pm

I work in healthcare. My primary job at a nursing home/rehab facility was hit with covid a few weeks ago, so it's been rough time for all. We have a great activities director who is openly gay. (Hang in there--this is relevant) When she took down the activities wall calendar because they were no longer allowed, she posted a ton of inspirational quotes on the wall that I'm sure she just found on pinterest or whatever. One is the a printable of "Find joy in the journey--Thomas S. Monson."

The first day I saw it, I was honestly irritated. It was a raw, emotional week for many reasons and I almost asked her if I could find a replacement because looking at it just bugged me. I didn't. As time has gone on, it just humors me to see it hanging there and think of an extremely outspoken, feminist lesbian co-opting it from Monson who took it from someone else in the first place.

(I live in the midwest, and I seriously doubt she has any idea who he is. It does kind of make me wonder the background of all of the other people quoted on the wall, though.)

Hagoth

Re: Mormon quotes popping up in unexpected places...

Post by Hagoth » Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:31 pm

That's funny. It sounds like something that might just as likely to be attributed to the Dhali Lama or Joseph Campbell, or maybe the Hang In There Baby cat.

Please stay safe, GS!!
“The easy confidence with which I know another man's religion is folly teaches me to suspect that my own is also.” -Mark Twain

Jesus: "The Kingdom of God is within you." The Buddha: "Be your own light."

Ghost

Post by Ghost » Fri Jul 17, 2020 7:39 am