Advice on parenting college-age student and drinking

This is for encouragement, ideas, and support for people going through a faith transition no matter where you hope to end up. This is also the place to laugh, cry, and love together.
acmeist

Advice on parenting college-age student and drinking

Post by acmeist » Sat Aug 27, 2022 8:23 pm

My oldest lives at home and is in his 2nd year at college. He is underage, and he wants to go to parties and drink. He said he wanted to stay overnight at a friend's place because he wants to drink and not worry about driving home. I was not okay with that, and told him why. After relenting, he said we would have to revisit the issue. He told me he got drunk at a convention he went to for a group club out of town months ago. I am not surprised at that. I just don't really know how to handle this because his dad and I have no experience with drinking in college. Anyway, any advice? I told him not drinking until he is 21 is the best way to go. He said it's just a random number, and that police weren't going to storm the party he planned on attending anyway. I know alcohol is readily available at social stuff he goes to at college, so this isn't going to really go away.

dogbite

Re: Advice on parenting college-age student and drinking

Post by dogbite » Sat Aug 27, 2022 8:52 pm

Generally alcohol tastes bad. People pursue it for other reasons related to it's psychological and physical reactions.

It might just be individuation and exploring.

If it's the euphoria, relaxation effects, then some form of meditation might be something they would find meaningful in addition to the effects they can learn to self induce/achieve.

They might find psilocybin a better path even.

If it's social lubrication, some form of self help or anxiety therapy might be beneficial.

If it's self medication, therapy is in order.

From a physical health perspective, no amount of alcohol is safe. My kids think it tastes revolting. I'm glad.

Red Ryder