Teaching the wrong stuff

Discussions toward a better understanding of LDS doctrine, history, and culture. Discussion of Christianity, religion, and faith in general is welcome.
alas

Teaching the wrong stuff

Post by alas » Mon Mar 11, 2024 11:06 am

I am reading a book about mass shooters and it is heavy enough I have to take it in bits and pieces. It helps that I have a degree in psychology. It talks about school shooters, but also those who go into work places, stores, churches. It has been analyzing what it is about American society that we have so many more than our share, and now is into what it is about the shooter that triggers them to open fire and kill whoever is there.

But it struck me that people around the shooter often, almost always, saw signs that the person was supper distressed, but they didn’t know what to do. And that most mentally ill are not violent, and that many shooters are not recognized as mentally ill anyway. So, the republicans thoughts and prayers are no more helpful than the current “it isn’t guns, it’s mental illness. And I thought about the active shooter drills they have in schools and some workplaces, and how the book says this is just not helping, and arming teachers and things like that won’t help.